Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Tight securities in Edo State as APC conducts governorship primaries

0 4

Voting is ongoing in the gubernatorial primary of the All Progressives Congress in Edo State.

Voting commenced following the arrival of the Alhaji Aminu Masari-led committee at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin, venue of the exercise.

Primaries in Edo State, apc
Primaries in Edo State, apc

The committee arrived at the venue about 5pm, amid tight security provided by personnel of the Nigeria Police Force, Department of State Security and the Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps,Corps, who also cordoned off both ends of Stadium road.

Masari, who is also the Governor of Katsina State, immediately went on an inspection of the various materials, including the ballot boxes, to be in the exercise.

The Katsina governor said that a total of 2,582 delegates were accredited to participate in the primary to elect the candidate of the ruling APC in the September 10 governorship polls.

He explained that voting would be done by thumb-printing on the ballot paper bearing the images of the 12 aspirants, adding that the delegates were expected to append their thumb prints on the paper bearing the image of their preferred candidate.

He, however, urged the aspirants, their agents and the delegates to see the primary as a family affair, as there would be no “loser”.

Masari said, “The aspirants ar‎e 12 in number; out of the 12, one of them must emerge as the candidate. If he emerges, he will need the other 11 for him to face the general election.

“So, there is no loser in this contest. We consider all of you that are participating as winners.”‎

‎The aspirants, who were screened and cleared by the national secretariat of the party, include the Deputy Governor, Dr. Pius Odubu; the head of the state economic team, Godwin Obaseki ; a former governor, Professor Oserhiemen Osunbor, and a fomer Minister of State for Works, Chris Ogiemwonyi.

Others are Maj-Gen Charles Airhiavbere (retd.), Ken Imasuagbon, Peter Esele, ‎Tina Agbarha, Blessing Agbomere, Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula, Professor Ebegue Amadasun and Austin Emuan.‎

Voting commenced at about 6pm, with the statutory delegates led by the State Governor, Adams Oshiomhole, who described the process as peaceful and in line with the democratic ideals of the APC

‎Other delegates later cast their vote according to their respective local government areas.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.